Federal-holidays | Meaning and Definition

What are federal holidays?

A federal holiday means the holidays granted by the federal government, i.e., ten paid holidays every year. During this time, non-essential government agencies are not operational. The employees have a day off and get paid for that day. Not just government agencies are closed, but also the schools, banks, and post offices are not open. The private companies also prefer to grant the federal holidays to their employees, but they are not compelled to do so legally.

List of Federal Holidays:   

  • New Year’s Day, i.e., on 1st January
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, i.e., on Third Monday in January
  • President’s Day, i.e., the Third Monday in February
  • Memorial Day, i.e., Last Monday in May
  • Independence Day, i.e., on 15th August
  • Labor Day, i.e., on First Monday in September
  • Columbus Day, i.e., on Second Monday in October
  • Veterans Day, i.e., on 11th November
  • Thanksgiving Day, i.e., on the Fourth Thursday in November
  • Christmas Day, i.e., on 25th December
Get 20% off
HR & Payroll Software